Indian off- spinner Ashwin Ravichandran was awarded with the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy as the ICC Cricketer of the year 2016 in Dharmasala yesterday.  This is Ashwin’s second Trophy after one received as number on Test Bowler in 2015.

With 48 wickets and 336 runs against his name in eight Tests, and 27 wickets in 19 Twenty20 Internationals during the voting period, Ashwin was a popular choice for the title. Ashwin Ashwin is the third Indian, and the 12th player overall to win the award and entered in the Hall of fame. (We are standing in the hall of fame, yeah)

The judgement is made by a voting academy which is totally independent of ICC and observes the performance of each player. The academy consists of members of the media from all the 10 test playing countries and are eligible to vote. For the award, performance of players between September 14, 2015, and September 20, 2016 were considered and Ashwin gave some outstanding performances, especially in the Tests.

Ashwin’s match-winning contribution against South Africa in Nagpur, and against the West Indies in Antigua and Gros Islet earned him Player of the Match awards on all three occasions. Against South Africa, Ashwin captured 31 wickets in the series, becoming the seventh Indian to claim 30 or more wickets in a single Test series.

While Rahul Dravid had won the title in 2004, Sachin Tendulkar was presented with the same in 2010. Other recipients of the award include Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint-winners in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009 and 2014), Jonathan Trott (2011), Kumar Sangakkara (2012), Michael Clarke (2013) and Steve Smith (2015).

Ashwin was awarded with Sir Garfield Sobers Award from former ICC captains and ICC Cricket Hall of Famers Kapil Dev and Sunil Gavaskar. Hail Ashwin! Felicitations to you.