Cricket fans witnessed a thrilling contest in the final of the Asia Cup played between India and Bangladesh in Dubai on Friday, a last-ball-finish match which finally went in India’s favour crowning team India as the champions of Asia Cup 2018 tournament.

Earlier, it was Indian captain Rohit Sharma who had won the toss and invited Bangladesh to have a go at the ball. Bangladesh accepted this invitation with both the hands as its openers Liton Das and Mehidy Hasan Miraz batted courageously to give a flying start to their innings with a solid opening partnership of 120 runs in 20.5 overs until the later fell victim to Kedar Jadhav after contributing 32 runs in the opening stand. But thereafter, Indian bowlers didn’t allow other Bangladesh batsmen to settle down as it kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. Resultantly, the entire Bangladesh innings got wrapped up for 222 runs in 48.3 overs with other significant contributions coming only from opener Liton Das (121) and Soumya Sarkar (33). Kuldeep Yadav was the most successful among Indian bowlers grabbing 3 wickets for 45 runs.

Chasing 223 runs didn’t seem a difficult task for the Indian team but it had to go through quite a few ups and downs in the event of chasing the total which made the match very exciting at many times. Indian openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan tried to give a flying start to the inning until the later got out for 15 when the team’s score was only 35 odd runs. Soon thereafter, India lost the wicket of Rayudu who could add only 2 runs to the total. The fall of skipper Rohit Sharma’s wicket for a well made 48 when the team’s score was only 83 runs added a lot of tension for team India.

Experienced campaigners Dinesh Karthik and M S Dhoni tried to build a partnership in the middle order but they too could not stay for long on the pitch. Finally, it was the heroic effort from injured Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Kuldeep Yadav who although made less but very important runs for team India in crucial situation which turned the match in India’s favour. India needed 6 runs of the last over bowled by Mahmudullah which were successfully made by Kuldeep Yadav and Kedar Jadhav taking the match as close as up to the last ball of the innings giving a nail-biting finish to the match and sealing the deal for team India. Bangladesh opener Liton Das was declared as player of the match for his heroic ton while Indian opener Shikhar Dhawn was named as player of the series for his phenomenal performance in the series.