The blues team made a historic win against Australia by winning independent India’s first-ever test series against the kangaroo team on Australian soil on Tuesday. As a note of appreciation, BCCI has announced cash rewards for the members of Indian team.

India clinched a marginal 2-1 victory on Monday in the four-match series that was played between India and Australia in Sydney. Since this was the first time in 7 decades, or 72 years precisely, that the Indian cricket team won a test series against Australia in Australia. Considered as one of the tallest achievements of the Indian team, not only did it affirmed the blues’ prowess in global cricket, but also sparked celebrations back in India.

As a mark of appreciation for the Indian cricket team upon winning such a major feat, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) congratulated the players and announced cash rewards for all the team members – including cricket players, coaches and support staff. As per BCCI’s announcement, all the test team members will receive “bonuses equivalent to the actual match-fee payable, which is Rs 15 Lakhs per match for Playing XI and Rs 7.5 Lakhs per match for the reserve players”. This means, all the cricket players including Virat Kohli will get double match fees for all three games played during the test series.

Coaches including Ravi Shastri and his assistants in the India-Australia test series will be awarded with Rs 25 lakh cash each; and all non-coaching members of Team India Support will receive bonuses equivalent to the pro-rata salary/professional fee. It was the historic significance of the victory that led BCCI to giving out cash rewards for matches apart from multi-nation tournaments like the Cricket World Cup or Champions Trophy, especially for bilateral matches, which is pretty rare. Next up, the Indian team will play a three-match ODI series, starting on 12 January in Sydney, for booking another win.