On Sunday, BJP released its first list of 72 candidates who will be contesting from various constituencies for the Karnataka Assembly elections held on May 12, 2018 – with a total of 224 seats across the state.

While everyone’s eyes are on the upcoming crucial Karnataka assembly elections, the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) has announced the first candidate list for the elections on Sunday. The list that consists of 72 candidates who will be contesting for BJP, was announced by the BJP’s Central Election Committee after a meeting at the party headquarters in Delhi. The meet-up at BJP headquarters was chaired by party president Amit Shah and the list of VIP attendees include PM Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, former Karnataka CM B S Yeddyurappa and many other legislators of the party.

Among the total of 224 constituency seat candidacy in Karnataka – 173 fall under general quota, 36 reserved for the Scheduled Castes (SCs) and 15 for the Scheduled Tribes (STs). In the list of 72 candidates who will be contesting for BJP on May 12, the prominent ones include BJP’s Karnataka chief ministerial candidate Yeddyurappa who will fight from Shikaripura, KS Eshwarappa from Shivamogga, Jagadish Shettar from Hubli-Dharwad Central, Basavaraj Bommai from Shiggaon, CM Udasi from Hangal, KV Hegde from Sirsi and B. Sriramulu from Molakalmuru from the reserved quota.

Remarkably, unlike 2013, when BJP was split into factions with Yeddyurappa forming KJP and B Sriramulu of Ballari floating BSR Congress, they are all fighting as a unified force this time around. However, it must be noted that of the list of 72, only three female candidates have been granted ticket by the BJP, including – Sashikala Jolle from Nippani assembly segment in the state’s northwest region, Roopali Naik from Karwar in the coastal area and Poornima Srinivas from Hiriyur in central part. For the incumbent party Congress, it would announce their candidate list for the elections in a “single phase” by April 15.