The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) has declared alliance with the tribal-centric faction in Tripura named as Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), which is led by NC Debbarma; and BJP also declared that doors are open for individual candidates – as long as they agree to fight upcoming election under BJP’s symbol.

The BJP in-charge for election for Tripura and Assam’s Finance Minister Himanta Sharma declared the alliance of the saffron party with a local tribal-based political faction named Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT). As per the declaration made by Sharma, both parties will share seats in the upcoming Tripura elections and while IPFT will contest from 9 of the 60 seats under BJP’s 20 Scheduled Tribe reserved quota; on the other hand, BJP will contest for the remaining 51 seats on Tripura. The list of candidates who will fight from IPFT will be declared today after being discussed, reviewed and confirmed by the party’s parliamentary board in Delhi.

The announcement was made on Thursday and Sharma, in presence of BJP state president Biplab Kumar Deb and BJP Central Observer Sunil Deodhar said that the alliance is a sign of assurance from BJP indicating the party’s socio-cultural, economic and linguistic development of the tribal community on Tripura. The 9 seats that IPFT will be contesting from includes – Simna, Mandai, Takarjala, Ampinagar, Manu, Raima Valley, Ramchandraghat, Asharambari and Kanchanpur; and the rest will be contested by BJP.

After alliance with IPFT, BJP has clearly ruled out any possibility of alliance with other tribal parties like Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT), National Council of Tripura (NCT) and IPFT (Tripraha) faction in the coming election. However, any independent candidate with confidence about winning a seat can join the party as long as they agree to fight the elections under BJP’s symbol. The willing ‘winnable’ candidates are require to fight under BJP’s symbol because the party believes that too many symbols are confusing for voters and such sub-divisions are not required for Tripura, as of now.