The result for Rajya Sabha election 2018 is out and it is a big win for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government as it is set to strengthen its presence in the Rajya Sabha by winning 28 seats out of a total of 59; whereas the main Opposition party – Congress lags behind with 9 seats.

Avenging over the recent defeat in Uttar Pradesh’s by-poll elections, the BJP swung back with a major victory in the Rajya Sabha by winning 28 seats of the 59 for the polls this year. For the Rajya Sabha elections conducted recently for 59 seats, 33 seats from 10 states were elected unopposed on March 15 – of which BJP accounted 16 three from its allies and five from the Congress, among others. Of the remaining 25 seats, BJP won 11 seats at stake in crucial Rajya Sabha biennial polls in seven states today amid high drama in Uttar Pradesh where it clinched a total of 9 seats – advantaging over the rift between SP and BSP.

From the election for 25 Rajya Sabha seats on Friday, the BJP won 12, the Congress five, Trinamool Congress four, Telangana Rashtra Samiti three and the Samajwadi Party one. Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and BJP leader GVL Narsimha Rao, SP’s Jaya Bachchan (all from Uttar Pradesh), Congress leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi, who was backed by ruling Trinamool Congress in West Bengal, and BJP’s Rajeev Chandrasekhar (from Karnataka) were among the prominent winners. In Karnataka, the Congress won in three out of four seats, while the BJP’s tally got reduced to one seat. West Bengal went on predicted lines as the ruling Trinamool Congress bagged four seats and while Congress leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi backed by the Trinamool defeated CPI-M’s Rabin Deb.

The results are a major relief for the BJP, but they also indicate that incumbent regional parties in states such as West Bengal and Telangana continue to perform well. On the other hand, BJP’s victorious performance shows that the party is still in dominance in the country as largest party in the Upper House continues. However, despite winning 28 seats and being the largest single party in Rajya Sabha, the NDA government is short of majority and has a considerably tough tally to cover up.