China is bidding on developing international tourism and has extended 30-day visa-free entry and stay to its southernmost island province of Beijing to citizens of 33 new countries – extending to a total of 59 countries.

Revealing its plan to permit visa-free travel to southernmost province, China has said that this move will push international tourism to the tropical destination called Hainan. As per the new policy which will be implemented from May, travellers from 59 countries will be allowed to travel to Hainan without visa and will be allowed to stay there for 30 days – without visa. Chinese administration believes that this move will help in bolstering the tourism industry in the tropical Chinese island by attracting international tourists and promoting development in the region.

The State Immigration Administration of China informed that tourists from countries like Russia, Britain, France, Germany, and the US can visit Hainan without visa from May 1, 2018 onwards and can stay there for up to 30 days. However, the visa-free entry and stay in Hainan will only be allowed if foreign travellers book through Chinese tour agencies. This will give Hainan less stringent visa requirements than in the rest of China, where travellers have to apply for visas through Chinese consulates abroad.

Previously, China had liberated visa rules and was offering a 15-day visa-free stay for group tourists from 21 countries since 2000 and added another five countries to the list in 2010. By extending the stay to 30 days and adding more western countries, China is hitting stone over attracting more international tourists, nurture the tourism industry and meet the needs of foreign individuals. The liberation for travel industry as part of a package of reforms to remake the island as a free trade zone and a beacon of openness for China. If you are wondering, India is not among the list of 59 countries who are allowed for visa-free travel. Here’s the list of 59 countries: