Keeping the promise made earlier today, the Election Commission has announced poll dates for conducting assembly elections in five states – Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Telangana before the Lok Sabha election 2019; and the Model Code of Conduct has already come into effect in all five poll-bound states.

As per the announcement made by Election Commission, the first among all five elections will be held in Chhattisgarh in two phases. The first phase will be conducted in 18 constituencies on November 12th and the second phase will be held on November 20 across remaining 72 constituencies. While Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will vote on November 28 in just single phases; and Telangana assembly elections will be conducted on December 7 – again in one phase across the state.

Upon announcing the poll dates, the Election Commission has implemented the Model Code of Conduct with immediate effect in four of five states except Telandgana – which has been in force from the date of dissolution of the Assembly last month.  The standard Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be attached with the Voter-Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPATs) for transparency, as implemented in elections held in Gujarat earlier. Counting of all five states will be made on December 11, 2018 and results will be declared on the same day – giving out the briefs of Indian voters’s political leniency and mood.