Tel Aviv: Indian researcher Shrinivas Kulkarni has won the esteemed Dan David prize for his contribution in the area of astronomy.

Kulkarni is a lecturer of astrophysics and planetary science at California Institute of Technology in Pasadena. He could be a pioneer and major figure in time-domain astrophysics across the electromagnetic spectrum who created and carried out the Palomar Transient Factory, a large-area study associated with the night sky in search of adjustable and oscillation phenomena.

The survey has turned up a large number of astral explosions, transforming our knowledge of the transient sky. The $1 million reward is a joint international enterprise gifted by the Dan David Foundation headquartered at Tel Aviv University.

Kulkarni, with this specific honour, joins other prominent Indian laureates for the Dan David prize incorporating author Amitav Ghosh, music conductor Zubin Mehta and renowned chemist CNR Rao. The honour is going to be conferred at a festive awards ceremony on May 21 into the presence regarding the laureates.

Three Dan David prizes of USD 1 million each are given each year in the types of “Past”, “Present” and “Future” to people around the globe who possess made outstanding benefits to humanity into the sciences, humanities, or through their work with civil society.

The recipients within the “Past” category are generally drawn from the field of history, archaeology, palaeontology, biography, etc; the “Present” from arts, media, policy, economics, etc; therefore, the “Future” from one regarding the exact or natural sciences.

The “Future” category this present year is specialised in astronomy and will be shared by Kulkarni, Andrej Udalski of the University of Warsaw and Neil Gehrels of NASA because of their discoveries on time-domain astrophysics.

The prize, now in its 16th year, was established because of the late Dan David, a worldwide businessman and philanthropist who envisioned a project that will extend beyond traditional academic categorisations.

This vision is fulfilled by a “roving” formula that seeks to reward achievements in every field of human endeavour as opposed to in a hard and fast pair of categories. So that you can encourage and foster new generations of scholars, the laureates have to donate 10 percent of their prize money towards scholarships for graduate or post- graduate researchers in their respective fields.

With the inputs of PTI.