Two weeks after the swearing in of HD Kumaraswamy of the Janata Dal as the chief minister of Karnataka and his Congress deputy, G Parameshwara finally the Karnataka cabinet was finally expanded today.

Since many days negotiations were going on as to which party in the coalition government would get which portfolio but the decisions were finalised thereafter on last Friday. Following it, the swearing in of more than half of the cabinet was done as soon as the Governor was free.
All together 25 ministers have been sworn in which include 15 Congress ministers along with 10 JDS ministers. There is still some hope for those party members who are not elected to power as still there are some vacant posts and in all 34 ministers can be accommodated in the cabinet of this coalition government.

Speaking to the media, senior Congress leader Veerappa Moily told that although the process of selecting the ministers to form the state cabinet was tricky, Rahul Gandhi has made good choices which will ensure a stable cabinet. Among the selected 25 candidates, there is only one woman who took oath. Congress leader and film star Jayamala, a member of the Legislative Council, became the only woman to take oath as the cabinet minister. N Mahesh became the first BSP MLA to become a minister outside the state of Uttar Pradesh. Among the ones who took oath, he was the only one to swear in the name of Dr BR Ambedkar and Gautama Buddha. He was also one of three MLAs who took oath in the name of Basavanna. There are in all 13 first-time ministers in this Kumaraswamy cabinet. The lone Independent MLA, R Shankar, became a minister on his first stint as MLA.

However, the supporters of senior leaders who were not selected as cabinet ministers did protest against their exclusion. They are former ministers HK Patil and MB Patil, who hail from the Mumbai-Karnataka region. Moreover, senior JD(S) leader Basavaraj Horatti, a Lingayat MLC who hails from the Mumbai-Karnataka region, also expressed discontent over his exclusion. Nevertheless, now it is only time and the performance of the newly formed cabinet government which will prove whether the decisions made by the coalition government at present are justified or not.