Although it wasn’t the day for the men in blue, giving out the first win for Australian team in India in any format of cricket match since 2008 – the T20I series was another record-breaker for skipper Virat Kohli as he went past 2200 runs to become the third highest run scorer in T20I matches.

The ongoing T20I series didn’t deliver the expected output and with two back-to-back defeats against Australia in Vishakhapatnam and Bangalore, the Indian record of no-Australian wins in India since 2008 was dented. The defeats might be seen as a dent in the flawless captaincy of Virat Kohli, but for him personally, he just crossed the 2200 runs mark to become one of the top three T20I runners of all time. With 72 runs from 38 balls during the match yesterday, he touched down to a total score of 2263 runs – equalling the score of Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik.

Not only did Kohli become the third highest run scorer in T20I matches, but he also managed to make it within just 67 matches compared to 111 matches by Malik. On number two of the list is Martin Guptill (2272 runs from 74 matches) – just 9 runs ahead of Kohli’s score and Rohit Sharma (2331 runs from 94 matches) with just 68 runs away to become the highest run scorer in the particular category of cricket. Also, the skipper managed to book an unbeaten score of 72 runs in the second T20I at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Thursday.