The newly-elected Karnataka Chief Minister, H.D. Kumaraswamy of the JD(S) has unanimously won the trust vote in floor test held at Karnataka Assembly today, with 117 votes; and Congress legislator was unanimously elected the Speaker at the Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru.

After political uncertainty for more than ten days, the Karnataka assembly witnessed the Congress-JD(S) coalition government facing floor test today, as per the orders of the Supreme Court. Ahead of the floor test, both Congress and JD(S) had kept their MLAs locked at separate resorts and hotels to prevent any ‘poaching’ by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which failed to form the government despite emerging as the single largest party in the state in May 12 Assembly elections. Newly sworn CM Kumaraswamy had clear edge in the test with Congress having 78 MLAs whereas the JD(S) having 38 MLA voting in their favour – which was marginally more than 112 votes to prove majority; while BJP ran short with 104 MLAs.

Before the floor test, the election for a new Speaker was averted as BJP’s S Suresh Kumar withdrew his nomination minutes before the House assembled. Hence, Congress nominee Ramesh Kumar got unanimously as the Speaker with support from Opposition coalition. Then, Ramesh Kumar took the charge of House as Speaker and proceeded with the floor test to begin trust voting and the coalition leader won the floor test with 117 trust votes in his favour. Surprisingly, BJP legislator BS Yeddyurappa extends his support to HD Kumaraswamy saying that BJP will cooperate the JD(S) leader in running the government smoothly.

However, to express protests, BJP MLAs walkout of Karnataka Assembly ahead of floor test. Later on, Yeddyurappa said that his party will hold a state-wide bandh on May 28, if CM HD Kumaraswamy fails to waive off loans of farmers – leading to BJP MLAs staged in the House walking out of the Assembly. As BJP MLAs walk out of the House, the confidence motion was put to vote and it was passed by the House – securing Kumaraswamy’s position as the CM of Karnataka with trust votes.