Former Joint Secretary of Defence Ministry, Om Prakash Rawat has been appointed at the new Chief Election Commissioner of India – succeeding A K Jyoti who will be retiring from the post on Monday, that is today.

The Rashtrapati Bhavan is on a spree of new updates and the two latest developments includes upholding of the Election Commission’s decision of disqualifying 20 Aam Aadmi Party MLAs and another news – appointment of Om Prakash Rawat as the new Chief Election Commissioner, replacing A K Jyoti who retires today. The 64-year old is from the retired 1977 batch of IAS officers and has held a number of important roles including – Joint Secretary in the Defence Ministry in 1994 and then deputed to South Africa as the UN election observer. Then he was the principal secretary to then Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Babu Lal Gaur in August 2004

Then, Rawat was appointed as Secretary to the Government of India in the Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises from where he retired on December 31, 2013. He had aken charge as Election Commissioner of India on August 14, 2015 and two years from the, Rawat has now been crowned as the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India. With this, the former joint secretary of the Ministry of Defence will become 22nd CEC of India.    To assist Rawat, the government has also appointed former finance secretary Ashok Lavasa as an Election Commissioner.

Prior to appointment, Rawat had been supporting ‘One Nation One Poll’ concept, which has been BJP’s agenda since long and he believes that holding simultaneous elections will help in saving a lot of money and time – especially for parties who can complete election campaigns only once and for all. However, Rawat’s tenure will end in December this year and the senior-most commissioner after the CEC – Sunil Arora will take over as the chief of the election body.