Pakistan Election 2018, the 11th general election of the country since 1970 starts off today and our neighbour will vote to decide who their next leader will be – PTI’s Imran Khan, PMNL’s Shahbaz Sharif or PPP’s Bilawal Bhutto Zardari.

In last 71 years, Pakistan has never seen a prime minister who completed the full five-year term in office and our neighbour is voting today, to pick their next leader. Today is the Pakistan Election 2018 consisting of 342-member National Assembly of Islamabad and four provincial assemblies — Punjab, Sindh, Baluchistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. The voting has already begun at 85,000 polling stations and the sixth largest country with a population of 200 million votes today to elect a new national assembly and provincial assemblies.

This year, one of these three men – cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI); Nawaz Sharif’s brother Shabaz Sharif of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN); and Benazir Bhutto’s son Bilawal Bhutto Zardari of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) will become the next Prime Minister of Pakistan. However, despite the spate of high-voltage election campaigns, none of the parties hold signs of clear majority and the Pakistan election results will remain a surprise until announced formally.

Interestingly, Pakistan’s electoral process is apparently different compared to other democracies like UK and India. The first and most unique procedure is that nation’s topmost position as the Prime Minister is handed over to a caretaker prior to the election. For this time, the caretaker is former chief justice Nasir-ul Mulk and same applies on provincial level; this is done to ensure fair and free elections. Then, there are a total of 342 members in the national assembly but only 272 members are directly elected and the rest are reserved for minorities and women. Which means, any party needs just 137 of the general seats to win the election. For now, let Pakistan vote its heart out.