Pramod Sawant was recently inducted as the Chief Minister of Goa by the BJP-led coalition, after the demise of Manohar Parrikar – and the new Goan CM comfortably won the floor test in Assembly with a total of 20 trust votes.

After the demise of Goa CM Manohar Parrikar on March 17, 2019 – the incumbent BJP-led coalition government had to appoint a new chief minister for the state; and the coalition had named Pramod Sawant as the new CM of Goa. Just like his predecessor Parrikar, 45-year-old leader Pramod Sawant too has been a dedicated Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) worker, a two-time MLA in Goa and a BJP youth leader.

The newly inducted Goa CM had to face a crucial floor test in the state Assembly of 40 members, via trust vote election that was held today. The Goa Assembly was reduced to the strength of just 36, after the seats vacated due to deaths of Manohar Parrikar and Francis D’ Souza; and two of the Congress MLAs left the party to join BJP. Hence, from a total of 36 trust voters – Sawant comfortably won the trust votes from 20 votes in favour, while 15 against him in the Assembly.

Apart from 11 votes of its own in the Assembly, BJP-led coalition bagged support from Pandurang Madkaikar, three each from Goa Forward Party, Maharashtra Gomantak Party (MGP) and three independents supported the Sawant government. On the other hand, 14 Congress MLAs and Churchill Alemao from the NCP had voted against the coalition motion. In what is tagged as an “unconstitutional move”, the BJP-led coalition had conducted the swearing-in ceremony of Pramod Sawant and his cabinet of 11 ministers on Tuesday morning – way ahead of the Assembly floor test.