After the twists and turns of the rollercoaster ride that Karnataka Assembly elections 2016 have been, the state witnessed second Chief Ministerial oath taking ceremony within just a week as Kumaraswamy, the third son of JD(S) supremo and former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda was sworn in as the CM, today.

A hung mandate of election on result day, a major coalition, a rejection of coalition’s government formation appeal, rounds of midnight Supreme Court sessions, swearing in of a legislator as CM without clear majority, the floor test, resignation of the CM within two days of taking over to office, victory of coalition in floor test and a swearing-in ceremony of a coalition leader – this is what Karnataka assembly election political drama was about this year. Interestingly, all this happened in just a week – which means, the Karnataka witnessed two CM oath-taking ceremonies within a gap of just a week after the result day.

Today, May 23, 2018 – amid the unity display of Opposition parties, Kumaraswamy, son of JD(S) supremo and former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Vajubhai Vala at 4:30 pm in front of the Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru. As lion’s share for Congress, the Deputy CM position was taken over by Karnataka Congress president G Parameshwara. Along with the top ministerial positions, 22 ministers of Congress and 12 ministers of the JD(S) will be sworn-in after the floor test slated for Friday.

The oath taking ceremony was rather a rare show of the strength of newly united once-rival political parties from across the nation. The guests at the ceremony included Congress president Rahul Gandhi, his mother and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee, N Chandrababu Naidu, Arvind Kejriwal, Pinarayi Vijayan, SP’s Akhilesh Yadav, RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav, CPI(M)’s Sitaram Yechury and NCP’s Sharad Pawar and BSP’s Mayawati were present at the ceremony – among many others. The opposition parties have sent their strongest message of unity as all leaders come stand to wave to the crowd. This unity can send tremors to BJP, which is currently a formidable party, but isn’t invincible. But the question is, can the opposition maintain its unity heading into 2019? Can they come under a single-umbrella to form a national-level alliance? But as of now, it looks like 2019 will be BJP against everyone else.