The Shiv Sena has passed a resolution that the party has decided to not align with the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) and will go solo for the Lok Sabha elections as well as Maharashtra Assembly elections in 2019.

In a major political development, the Shiv Sena passed a resolution which will bring down the curtain on its long-standing alliance with the BJP. The Shiv Sena today, declared that it will not align with BJP and will act as a solo party to fight the upcoming Lok Sabha and Maharashtra Assembly elections that are scheduled in 2019. The resolution was moved by Sena MP Sanjay Raut who said that the decision of breaking-up with BJP was made since the saffron party had been demoralising the Sena since last three years. Not surprisingly, the resolution was passed unanimously during the party’s National Executive meeting today.

Raut claimed that after detaching from BJP, the party will win at least 25 Lok Sabha seats (out of a total 48 in Maharashtra) and 125 Assembly seats (out of a total 288) in the state. However, this is no surprise after the the first time Sena has decided to snap-off ties with the BJP during the last year’s contest for BMC elections and the party had successfully won the country’s richest municipal body. The party alleges that ‘BJP had been associating Shiv Sena with Hindutva and they had remained silent for Hindutva, but the saffron party had been demoralising Sena since last three years by using its powers in the centre.

Since quite some time, the Sena leaders were talking about walking away from BJP and it was in December last year when Raut had signalled that Shiv Sena and BJP are on the verge of splitting. Besides the major split few other changes were made in the body of the party – including elevation of Yuva Sena president Aaditya Thackeray as the National Executive of Shiv Sena. Also, Sena ministers Eknath Shinde, MPs Chandrakant Kaire, Anant Geere and Anatrao Adsul were promoted as leaders of the party. Upcoming elections are going to be way too interesting to not anticipate for. Until then.