Sunil Chhetri, the popular face of Indian football team has been chosen to lead the Indian football team for AFC Asian Cup 2019, which will be held in UAE.

As the Indian team gets ready to compete with some of the best international football teams from all over Asia during the AFC Asian Cup 2019, the All India Football Federation (AIFF) has announced the list of 23 men who will represent and play for India in the tournament. The selection of all 23 football players were made by Coach Stephen Constantine along with the AIFF team and the team is expected to achieve a major victory in the AFC Asian Cup that will be held in UAE next year.

Keeping up with his trust in experienced players, Coach Constantine has picked some of the old players including Sandesh Jhingan, Pritam Kotal, Anas Edathodika and Narayan Das making the cut along with Sarthak Golui, Ranjan Singh and Subhasish Bose. However, the Indian team will be lead by none other than Sunil Chhetri to play on 5th January 2019. The tournament will end on February 1, 2019 during which teams from 24 Asian countries will be competing against each other, with the same goal of winning the cup.

The teams are divided into a total of six groups, each having four teams, of which India has been placed in group A along with Bahrain, Thailand and hosts UAE. Here is the complete list of 23 Indian players for AFC Asian Cup 2019:

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sumeet Passi, Balwant Singh

Midfielders: Udanta Singh, Jackichand Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Germanpreet Singh, Vinit Rai, Rowllin Borges, Pronay Halder, Ashique Kuruniyan, Halicharan Narzary

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Sarthak Golui, Salam Ranjan Singh, Anas Edathodika, Sandesh Jhingan, Subhasish Bose, Narayan Das

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Vishal Kaith