Four years after the bifurcation, the two southern states Telangana and Andhra Pradesh now have their own high courts – Telangana High Court and Andhra Pradesh High Court, instead of the shared Hyderabad High Court.

During British rule in late 1940s, the state of Telangana which was merged with Andhra State to form Andhra Pradesh. A massive peasant-driven movement was triggered in 1950s and continued for over five decades, after which, the two states were finally separated on June 2, 2014 to form Telangana and Andhra Pradesh as two individual states. Being the youngest state in modern India, the judicial functioning of the state continued to function from Andhra Pradesh and the court was renamed as the High Court of Judicature at Hyderabad for the State of Telangana and the State of Andhra Pradesh – aka the Hyderabad High Court, post bifurcation.

Over four years since the bifurcation, separate high courts for Telangana and Andhra Pradesh came into being on Tuesday with the beginning of a new year. The Hyderabad HC will now be rechristened as Telangana High Court with Thottathil B Radhakrishnan as the Chief Justice; and the Andhra Pradesh High Court will function from the state’s capital Amaravati under the lead of acting Chief Justice C Praveen Kumar. Besides this, a total of 13 judges sworn in are Justices for a smooth functioning of both high courts.

As many as 900 employees including judges and lawyers decked up into special buses for Amaravati, as their Telangana counterparts saw them off from the High Court of Judicature in Hyderabad on Monday. As of now, the members of legal fraternity of Andhra Pradesh will work from the chief minister’s camp office in Vijayawada as ad-hoc premises until the temporary building to accommodate the high court gets ready in Amaravati. The temporary building is likely to be ready by the end of January, and the AP High Court will function from there as the actual high court complex will be built in another three years. But like AP CM Chandrababu Naidu said, this is a “historic day” for both the states.