After a close victory in Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017, the new BJP-led government headed by Vijay Rupani as the Chief Minister were sworn in at a grandiose ceremony in Gandhinagar today. The oaths were taken by Rupani and 19 Cabinet members in presence of PM Modi, Amit Shah as well as CMs of all 18 states that are under BJP’s rule.

Sixth consecutive victory for the saffron party, on the saffron homeland of Gujarat and a second term for Rupani as the Chief Minister of Gujarat were officialised with oaths today. The BJP won in Gujarat with a majority of 99 seats in 182-member house, and incumbent CM Vijay Rupani was chosen to continue being the head of Cabinet of Gujarat. BJP President Amit Shah on Monday, announced the names of their choice of CM to be Vijay Rupani and deputy CM to be Nitin Patel; hence it will be a second term together for both Rupani and Patel.

The swearing in ceremony was held at Gujarat’s capital city – Gandhinagar today and Rupani as well as cabinet ministers of the state took oaths in presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, chief ministers of 18 BJP-ruled States, and other senior party leaders. Along with Rupani and Patel, a total of 19 ministers – nine of them in cabinet rank and 10 MoS – were sworn in. Among the cabinet ministers were – Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, R.C Faldu, Kaushik Patel, Saurabh Patel, Ganpat Vasava, Jayesh Radadiya and Ishwarbhai R. Parmar. While Pradipsinh Jadeja, Parbatbhai Patel, Jaydrathsinh Parmar, Ramanlal Nanubhai Patkar, Parsottam Solanki, Ishwarsinh Patel, Vasanbhai Ahir, Kishor Kanani, Bachubhai Maganbhai Khabad, and Vibhavari Dave were sworn in as MoS. It is interesting to see that of the 19 minister, there was just 1 female nomination.

The heads of newly formed cabinet may be same, but there are certainly few changes – that is Water Resources and Irrigation Minister Babu Bokhiria who won from Porbandar seat has been dropped out this year. Vallabh Kakadia, who held the transport portfolio in the previous government, has also been dropped. The reasons for dropping out these ministers are unknown, but workout your grey cells to know the reason.