New Delhi: Former Indian opener Virender Sehwag and former sprint ruler PT Usha have been named in the 12-member committee to pick the current year’s Khel Ratna and Arjuna awardees.

The Arjuna Award Committee will be going by Justice (retd) C K Thakkar and will meet on August 3 to choose the current year’s awardees.

This committee has P T Usha (competitor) Mukund Killekar (boxing), Sunil Dabbas (Kabaddi), M R Mishra (Journalist), S Kannan (Journalist), Sanjeev Kumar (Journalist), Latha Madhvi (Para competitor), Anil Khanna (sports manager), Injeti Srinivas (DG, SAI) and Rajvir Singh (joint Secretary, Sports Ministry) as alternate members.

In the interim, former shuttler and current national badminton mentor, Pullela Gopichand and ace Indian cueist Pankaj Advani have been named in committee to pick Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awardees.

It might be reviewed here that the Arjuna Award was founded in 1961 as the most noteworthy national recognition for outstanding performance in Sports and Games in the Olympics, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Cup, World Championship coaches and Cricket.

The Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India to perceive outstanding accomplishment in National games. Organized in 1961, the award conveys a cash prize of Rs. 5,00,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a parchment.