38 central universities in India will get free open Wi-Fi enabled by July this year and the students will be able to use it for study purposes without any charges. The announcement was made by Union Human Resource Development Minister Prakash Javadekar.

In the era of technology and modernisation, internet has become a basic requirement for most people and to remain shoulder-to-shoulder with time, the Union Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) on Tuesday announced that the students of 38 Central universities including Delhi University, IGNOU, Jawaharlal Nehru University, etc. will get free Wi-Fi service for the students from July 2017. The Wi-Fi enabled campus networks will be connected to the National Knowledge Network (NKN).

Free internet will also influence the potential of ICT in teaching and learning process. Also, the the Wi-Fi enabled campus area network would help in providing low cost and affordable high quality e-content to all the students across the nation. Here is the list of 38 organisations which will offer free Wi-Fi service:

  1. Banaras Hindu University
  2. Assam University, Silchar
  3. HNBG University, Uttarakhand
  4. Central University, Kashmir
  5. Tripura University
  6. Manipur University, Aizawl
  7. Central University, Himachal Pradesh
  8. Central University South Bihar, BIT
  9. EFL University, Hyderabad
  10. Central University Orissa
  11. Pondicherry University
  12. MANU University, Hyderabad
  13. Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), Delhi
  14. Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), Delhi
  15. BSBR Ambedkar University
  16. Aligarh Muslim University
  17. GG Vishwa Vidyalaya, Bilaspur
  18. Sikkim University, Gangtok
  19. Nagaland University, Kohima
  20. Mizoram University, Aizawal
  21. Central University, Jammu Tavi
  22. Tezpur University
  23. Rajiv Gandhi University, Itanagar
  24. Delhi University
  25. Central University, Jharkhand
  26. VB Shantiniketan, West Bangal
  27. Hyderabad University
  28. Central University, Punjab
  29. Central University, Tamil Nadu
  30. Jamia Millia Islamia University
  31. Dr HG Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar
  32. Central University, Karnataka
  33. Central University, Haryana
  34. Central University, Gujarat
  35. IGNT University, Amarkantak
  36. MG Antarrashriya, Wardha
  37. Central University, Rajasthan
  38. Central University, Kerala